Eternal Beauties

There are beauties and there are beauties! I’ve been watching movies since childhood and have been influenced to quite an extent with mom’s choice and taste in cinema. This exposed me to two sets of movies among the choices available (both in Bollywood & Hollywood) – meaningful cinema and the usual commercial ones.

Among most of the movies that I ever saw when I was younger were your usual timepass stuff, which did include some good stuff. However, over the years there is one thing that stuck around – the cinematic beauties. Weather it is Sofia Loren, the over hyped, yet cute – Marilyn Monroe, our very own, Smita Patil, Sridevi, Madhuri, Juhi or Aishwarya. The difference between the beauties of the 60’s, 70’s, 80’s and now lies in the sheer talent that the ladies of that generation possessed.

20111217-173128.jpg

20111217-173102.jpg

Take Sridevi, Madhuri Dixit, Smita Patil or Madhubala for instance. These were (some still are) gorgeous women, spelling ‘true beauty’. What sets them apart is the sheer talent and their brilliance in showcasing the toughest of roles with absolute ease. Can we say the same about the ‘so called beauties’ of today? Maybe not! But then that’s just my opinion…….which I feel quite strongly about 😉

20111217-174119.jpg

20111217-173531.jpg

20111217-173542.jpg

20111217-173525.jpg

Watching Madhuri in that ad or Sridevi walking the ramp or Juhi hosting the kiddies show, still gets my pulse racing. True eternal beauty with sheer talent. Alas! Wish I could say the same about the rest that we see today


About this entry