Directionless (Part 1)

For the longest I’ve been wondering what my next blog post was going to be about and though there are numerous topics which interest, influence and affect me, I’ve really not bothered to share my opinion about them. From Politics to Movies to Food to Profession to the Daily Life, there’s a lot that everyone has already written about or has had an opinion on. Religion is one thing that I chose to stay away from, because I believe that more than uniting each other, it creates unwanted and unwarranted divide among people. So, even though I have a very strong view point on Religion, I choose to keep my mouth shut (in this case hands tied).

This is one of my unusual, directionless rants, hence the title. So if you feel this doesn’t make sense, well then….join the club. While I write this, I’m trying to figure out where it’s leading and what I’m thinking and thus it’s absurd, even to me.

I find people (as a topic) very interesting and amusing. In the professional life, I get the opportunity to meet, talk to and more importantly observe people. Yet my mother used to think that I am a bad judge of character. While that may be true to some extent, I’ve had the privilege of knowing, working and being great friends with some of the finest people I’ve ever met. These are great people; they have taught me that friendship isn’t about what I can do for you, neither is it about being around you all the time or what benefit can be extracted out of it, but it is about just being around, just in case. I’ve not spoken with or met some of the best people I know for years and months or in one case I’ve not met them till date (just spoken on the phone and chatted on social networking or whatsapp), yet I know that when the time calls for it, they will be around to lend a helping hand. While on the other hand, the people I used to consider close friends, turned out the absolute opposite and to them I say thank you for teaching me some valuable lessons in life and good riddance to bad rubbish.

Now coming back to observing people, for those who don’t know what I do for a living, well I’m in the Indian hospitality space. There, now you know how I end up observing so many people. Before I move on I’d like to clarify, I’m no expert behavioural analyst, nor do I pretend to be one. I just observe and wonder.

About this entry